Champions Trophy Is Again, Extra Groups for T20 and 50-Over World Cups

The T20 World Cup will likely be held each two years in the course of the subsequent eight-year Futures Excursions & Programme (FTP) cycle whereas the 50-over occasion will likely be a 14-team affair from the 2027 version, the sport’s governing physique ICC stated on Tuesday.

Additionally as per PTI’s earlier report, the World Take a look at Championship could have 4 editions within the subsequent cycle other than two Champions Trophy.

ICC Offers India Time Until June 28 to Resolve on T20 World Cup

“The ICC Board today confirmed the schedule of ICC events from 2024-2031 with both the men’s Cricket World Cup and men’s T20 World Cup to be expanded and a men’s Champions Trophy to be re-introduced,” the worldwide physique stated in a launch issued after the board assembly.

‘If You Repetitively Ask the Same Question…’ – Mithali Raj’s Response on Reuniting With Ramesh Powar

“The men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14 team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031, whilst the men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team, 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.”

The 50-over format at the moment is a 10-team occasion whereas this version of T20 World Cup will likely be a 16-team affair.

“An eight team Champions Trophy will be hosted in 2025 and 2029. World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. The ICC Women’s event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to growing the women’s game,” it additional acknowledged.

The boys’s World Cup format could have two teams of seven, with the highest three in every group progressing to a Tremendous Six stage, adopted by semi-finals and closing.

This is similar format that was used within the 2003 version. The format of the T20 World Cup will consist of 4 teams of 5, with the highest two from every group going by to a Tremendous Eights stage, adopted by the knockout levels of semi-finals and a closing.

The Champions Trophy will comply with earlier editions with two teams of 4, semi-finals and closing.

The ICC Board additionally accepted the method for figuring out the hosts for all males’s, ladies’s and U-19 occasions within the subsequent cycle.

The hosts for the boys’s occasions will likely be determined in September following a variety course of that may get underway this month.

The internet hosting course of for ladies’s and U-19 occasions will begin in November and will likely be a possibility to interact with a wider vary of Members together with first-time hosts.

“Having the ICC event schedule confirmed through to 2031 is a significant step forward for cricket and will form the basis of our growth strategy for the next decade,” ICC Performing Chief Government Geoff Allardice stated.

“The revised approach to selecting hosts for our events will give us much more flexibility to grow the game and engage new fans. There is a smaller pool of countries with the infrastructure needed to host our senior men’s events which narrows the selection process.

“Additionally, many of our Members expressed interest in hosting Women’s and U19 events which gives us a great opportunity to stage events in established and emerging cricket nations.”

Get all of the IPL information and Cricket Rating right here

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker